eBook.de : Ihr Online Shop für eBooks, Reader, Downloads und Bücher
Connect 01/2015 eBook-Shops: Testsieger im epub Angebot, Testurteil: gut Die Welt: Kundenorientierte Internetseiten Prädikat GOLD
+49 (0)40 4223 6096
€ 0,00
Zur Kasse
PORTO-
FREI

The World of Normal Boys

Sprache: Englisch.
Vorbestellbar
Taschenbuch
Taschenbuch € 12,99* inkl. MwSt.
Portofrei*
Dieses Taschenbuch ist auch verfügbar als:

Produktdetails

Titel: The World of Normal Boys
Autor/en: K. M. Soehnlein

ISBN: 1575666618
EAN: 9781575666617
Sprache: Englisch.
KENSINGTON

August 2001 - kartoniert - 282 Seiten

In his stunning debut novel, The World Of Normal Boys, K.M. Soehnlein captures the spirit of a generation and an era, embodied in the haunting, unstoppable voice of thirteen-year-old Robin MacKenzie, a modern-day Holden Caulfield, whose struggle for a place in the world is as ferocious as it is real.The time is the late 1970s--an age of gas shortages, head shops, and Saturday Night Fever. The place, suburban New Jersey. At a time when the teenagers around him are coming of age, Robin MacKenzie is coming undone. While "normal boys" are into cars, sports, and bullying their classmates, Robin enjoys day trips to New York City with his elegant mother, spinning fantastic tales for her amusement in an intimate ritual he has come to love. He dutifully plays the role of the good son for his meat-and-potatoes father, even as his own mind is a jumble of sexual confusion and painful self-doubt. But everything changes in one, horrifying instant when a tragic accident wakes his family from their middle-American dream and plunges them into a spiral of slow destruction.
As his family falls apart day by day, Robin finds himself pulling away from the unquestioned, unexamined life that has been carefully laid out for him. Small acts of rebellion lead to larger questions of what it means to stand on his own. Falling into a fevered triangle with two other outcasts, Todd Spicer and Scott Schatz, Robin embarks on an explosive odyssey of sexual self-discovery that will take him beyond the spring-green lawns of suburbia, beyond the fraying fabric barely holding together his quickly unraveling family, and into a complex future, beyond the world of normal boys.
In The World Of Normal Boys, K.M. Soehnlein has created a dazzling gem of a debut novel in the tradition of Ordinary People and A Boy's Own Story, one that sparkles with raw honesty, poetic beauty, wry insight, and a rare richness of emotion that reverberates long after the last page is read. It is a story about growing up and falling apart, of rebellion and acceptance, of unspoken lives and irreversible choices that are made.

K.M. Soehnlein is the author of the Lambda Literary Award-winning debut, The World of Normal Boys; its sequel, Robin and Ruby; and the novel You Can Say You Knew Me When. His writing has appeared in Out, The Village Voice, San Francisco Magazine and other publications. He teaches at the University of San Francisco. Follow him @kmsoehnlein.
Kundenbewertungen zu K. M. Soehnlein „The World of Normal Boys“
Noch keine Bewertungen vorhanden
Zur Rangliste der Rezensenten
Veröffentlichen Sie Ihre Kundenbewertung:
Kundenbewertung schreiben
Unsere Leistungen auf einen Klick
Unser Service für Sie
Zahlungsmethoden
Bequem, einfach und sicher mit eBook.de. mehr Infos akzeptierte Zahlungsarten: Überweisung, offene Rechnung,
Visa, Master Card, American Express, Paypal mehr Infos
Geprüfte Qualität
  • Schnelle Downloads
  • Datenschutz
  • Sichere Zahlung
  • SSL-Verschlüsselung
Servicehotline
+49 (0)40 4223 6096
Mo. - Fr. 8.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Sa. 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr
Chat
Ihre E-Mail-Adresse eintragen und kostenlos informiert werden:
* Alle Preise verstehen sich inkl. der gesetzlichen MwSt. Informationen über den Versand und anfallende Versandkosten finden Sie hier.
Bei als portofrei markierten Produkten bezieht sich dies nur auf den Versand innerhalb Deutschlands.

** Deutschsprachige eBooks und Bücher dürfen aufgrund der in Deutschland geltenden Buchpreisbindung und/oder Vorgaben von Verlagen nicht rabattiert werden. Soweit von uns deutschsprachige eBooks und Bücher günstiger angezeigt werden, wurde bei diesen kürzlich von den Verlagen der Preis gesenkt oder die Buchpreisbindung wurde für diese Titel inzwischen aufgehoben. Angaben zu Preisnachlässen beziehen sich auf den dargestellten Vergleichspreis.
eBook.de - Meine Bücher immer dabei
eBook.de ist eine Marke der Hugendubel Digital GmbH & Co. KG
Folgen Sie uns unter: