eBook.de : Ihr Online Shop für eBooks, Reader, Downloads und Bücher
Connect 01/2015 eBook-Shops: Testsieger im epub Angebot, Testurteil: gut Die Welt: Kundenorientierte Internetseiten Prädikat GOLD
+49 (0)40 4223 6096
50% und mehr sparen mit den eBook Schnäppchen der Woche² >>
PORTO-
FREI

The Moon Pool

Lieferbar innerhalb von 3 bis 5 Werktagen
Taschenbuch
Taschenbuch € 27,99* inkl. MwSt.
Portofrei*
Dieser Artikel ist auch verfügbar als:

Produktdetails

Titel: The Moon Pool
Autor/en: A. Merritt, Abraham Merritt

ISBN: 0819567078
EAN: 9780819567079
Paperback.
Sprache: Englisch.
Herausgegeben von Michael Levy
Wesleyan University Press

1. Juli 2004 - kartoniert - 356 Seiten

One of the most gripping fantasies ever written, The Moon Pool embodies all the romanticism and poetic nostalgia characteristic of A. Merritt's writings. Set on the island of Ponape, full of ruins from ancient civilizations, the novel chronicles the adventures of a party of explorers who discover a previously unknown underground world full of strange peoples and super-scientific wonders. From the depths of this world, the party unwittingly unleashes the Dweller, a monstrous terror that threatens the islands of the South Pacific. Although Merritt did not invent the lost world novel, following in the footsteps of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Burroughs and others, he greatly elaborated upon that tradition. This new edition includes a biography of the author, and an introduction detailing Merritt's many sources and influences, including the occult, mythological, and scientific discourses of his day.

Author of 15 science fiction and fantasy novels, ABRAHAM MERRITT (1884-1943) was the most popular genre writer of his time. His talent for fantasy and science fiction writing was first recognized when the novelette version of this story appeared in a 1918 issue of All-Story Weekly. Editor MICHAEL LEVY currently serves as Chair of the Department of English and Philosophy at the University of Wisconsin-Stout.

"The Moon Pool is a lost-world novel in the tradition of Jules Verne, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Edgar Rice Burroughs, H. Rider Haggard, and James Hilton that manages to be spooky, spiritual, and silly all at once."-Belles Lettres

"This edition of The Moon Pool is a rare accomplishment: a scholarly edition of a piece of pulp fiction. Levy's edition does a service to the whole genre." -John Huntington, author of Rationalizing Genius

"As one of the most popular early works at the very birth of pulp magazines, The Moon Pool represents the tastes of this period. The introduction constitutes the major piece of Merritt scholarship to appear in recent decades."-Gary K. Wolfe, author of The Known and the Unknown
Author of 15 science-fiction and fantasy novels, Abraham Merritt (1884-1943) was the most popular genre writer of his time. His talent for fantasy and science fiction writing was first recognized when the novelette version of this story appeared in a 1918 issue of All-Story Weekly. Michael Levy currently serves as Chair of the Department of English and Philosophy at the University of Wisconsin-Stout.

Kundenbewertungen zu A. Merritt, Abraham… „The Moon Pool“
Noch keine Bewertungen vorhanden
Zur Rangliste der Rezensenten
Veröffentlichen Sie Ihre Kundenbewertung:
Kundenbewertung schreiben
Unsere Leistungen auf einen Klick
Unser Service für Sie
Zahlungsmethoden
Bequem, einfach und sicher mit eBook.de. mehr Infos akzeptierte Zahlungsarten: Überweisung, offene Rechnung,
Visa, Master Card, American Express, Paypal mehr Infos
Geprüfte Qualität
  • Schnelle Downloads
  • Datenschutz
  • Sichere Zahlung
  • SSL-Verschlüsselung
Servicehotline
+49 (0)40 4223 6096
Mo. - Fr. 8.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Sa. 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr
Chat
Ihre E-Mail-Adresse eintragen und kostenlos informiert werden:
2 Diese Artikel unterliegen nicht der Preisbindung, die Preisbindung dieser Artikel wurde aufgehoben oder der Preis wurde vom Verlag gesenkt. Die jeweils zutreffende Alternative wird Ihnen auf der Artikelseite dargestellt. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den vorherigen Preis.

4 Der gebundene Preis dieses Artikels wird nach Ablauf des auf der Artikelseite dargestellten Datums vom Verlag angehoben.

5 Der Preisvergleich bezieht sich auf die unverbindliche Preisempfehlung (UVP) des Herstellers.

6 Der gebundene Preis dieses Artikels wurde vom Verlag gesenkt. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den vorherigen Preis.

7 Die Preisbindung dieses Artikels wurde aufgehoben. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den vorherigen Preis.

* Alle Preise verstehen sich inkl. der gesetzlichen MwSt. Informationen über den Versand und anfallende Versandkosten finden Sie hier.

eBook.de - Meine Bücher immer dabei
eBook.de ist eine Marke der Hugendubel Digital GmbH & Co. KG
Folgen Sie uns unter: