eBook.de : Ihr Online Shop für eBooks, Reader, Downloads und Bücher
+49 (0)40 4223 6096

Natural Law

The Foundation of an Orderly Economic System.
Lieferbar innerhalb von drei Wochen
Taschenbuch
Taschenbuch € 56,99* inkl. MwSt.
Portofrei*
Dieser Artikel ist auch verfügbar als:

Produktdetails

Titel: Natural Law
Autor/en: Alberto M Piedra

ISBN: 0739109499
EAN: 9780739109496
The Foundation of an Orderly Economic System.
Paperback.
Sprache: Englisch.
Lexington Books

1. Januar 2005 - kartoniert - 220 Seiten

  • Empfehlen
Author Alberto M. Piedra lucidly illustrates the notion of 'natural law' through the examination of economic, social, political, and cultural issues. In this work Piedra draws on classical and Christian sources as well as his personal experience as an economist, diplomat, and lecturer on world politics to address philosophical views in a constructive and morally guided exegesis of natural law and economics. This innovative book shows the value of appeals to a governing, natural law and attendant principles such as the common good, subsidiarity, hierarchy, spiritual welfare, the reciprocity of freedom and authority, and the cultivation of personal moral and intellectual virtue. Natural Law will appeal to scholars, professionals, and others interested in the cultivation of personal moral and intellectual virtue.
1 Chapter I: Natural Law and the Age of Reason 2 Chapter II: Human Nature and the Dignity of the Human Person 3 Chapter III: The Classical School and the Birth of Capitalism 4 Chapter IV: The Romantic and Socialist Reactions to the Industrial Revolution 5 Chapter V: Neoclassicism, the Keynesian Revolution and Other Sources of Dissent 6 Chapter VI: The Metaphysical Dimensions of Man: Their Ethical Implications 7 Chapter VII: The Fundamental Issue of Human Work 8 Chapter VIII: Population, the Welfare State, and the Challenge of the Environment 9 Chapter IX: The Challenge of Globalization 10 Epilogue
Alberto M. Piedra is Professor of Political Economy at The Institute of World Politics.
Piedra's book is an impressive application of natural law thinking to areas not usually explored by political philosophy such as economic theory, demographics, and globalization. The strong emphasis upon philosophical anthropology and ethics provides the reader with perspective on key issues and theories in economics. The critique of Keynesian economics is particularly illuminating. -- John Hittinger, Sacred Heart Major Seminary Joseph Schumpeter and Nobel laureate F. A. Hayek correctly pointed out that the tradition of natural law, as presented by the great Late Scholastic authors, gave rise to the development of economic science. By expanding on the richness of the natural law tradition, this book gives new inspiration for an economic system based on sound economics and the dignity of the human person. -- Alejandro A. Chafuen, author ofFaith and Liberty Piedra writes in the tradition of Thomas Aquinas, Jacques Maritain, and other Catholic natural law theorists. Libraries serving this audience will want to acquire this book. Recommended. CHOICE Alberto Piedra deftly shows why a few old truths can solve many modern problems. His argument for natural law is not a plea for a return to the past, but a demonstration of something that we need if we want a prosperous and authentically humane future. -- Robert Royal, Faith and Reason Institute
Kundenbewertungen zu Alberto M Piedra „Natural Law“
Noch keine Bewertungen vorhanden
Zur Rangliste der Rezensenten
Veröffentlichen Sie Ihre Kundenbewertung:
Kundenbewertung schreiben
Unsere Leistungen auf einen Klick
Unser Service für Sie
Zahlungsmethoden
Bequem, einfach und sicher mit eBook.de. mehr Infos akzeptierte Zahlungsarten: Überweisung, offene Rechnung,
Visa, Master Card, American Express, Paypal mehr Infos
Geprüfte Qualität
  • Schnelle Downloads
  • Datenschutz
  • Sichere Zahlung
  • SSL-Verschlüsselung
Servicehotline
+49 (0)40 4223 6096
Mo. - Fr. 8.00 - 20.00 Uhr
Sa. 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr
Chat
Ihre E-Mail-Adresse eintragen und kostenlos informiert werden:
2 Diese Artikel unterliegen nicht der Preisbindung, die Preisbindung dieser Artikel wurde aufgehoben oder der Preis wurde vom Verlag gesenkt. Die jeweils zutreffende Alternative wird Ihnen auf der Artikelseite dargestellt. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den vorherigen Preis.

3 Durch Öffnen der Leseprobe willigen Sie ein, dass Daten an den Anbieter der Leseprobe übermittelt werden.

4 Der gebundene Preis dieses Artikels wird nach Ablauf des auf der Artikelseite dargestellten Datums vom Verlag angehoben.

5 Der Preisvergleich bezieht sich auf die unverbindliche Preisempfehlung (UVP) des Herstellers.

6 Der gebundene Preis dieses Artikels wurde vom Verlag gesenkt. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den vorherigen Preis.

7 Die Preisbindung dieses Artikels wurde aufgehoben. Angaben zu Preissenkungen beziehen sich auf den vorherigen Preis.

* Alle Preise verstehen sich inkl. der gesetzlichen MwSt. Informationen über den Versand und anfallende Versandkosten finden Sie hier

eBook.de - Meine Bücher immer dabei
eBook.de ist eine Marke der Hugendubel Digital GmbH & Co. KG
Folgen Sie uns unter: